Follow the links for our current opening hours
Barbican (Tel:0207 588 9242)
Kensington (Tel:0207 589 9054)

Click & Collect orders and Local pick up are available from both stores.

Get ready for Back To School
with new ideas for the new year .

Covid19 Update
Click here for the latest on how COVID19
has affected us, and Royal Mail Deliveries.
The 10% students and teachers
discount is available.

Visit our Digital Download site
to get Choral and Solo
Instrumental music instantly.

Lieder, Vol. 1 (New Edition) ( Op.1-8, 12-14, 19-25) (Urtext).




In stock. Usually ships in 24hrs.

Click & Collect

Available from Barbican Chimes


Schubert lieder for discerning musicians The start of a new Bärenreiter Urtext Edition The New Schubert Edition is the only scholarly-critical edition that will, once completed, include Franz Schubert's lieder in their entirety. In response to the rising expectations of performers and listeners alike, all the lieder will be published over the next few years in performing editions containing the text of Walther Dürr , the eminent Schubert scholar and former Managing Editor of the New Schubert Edition. The new series will substitute the edition jointly published by Bärenreiter and G. Henle since 1977.

- Includes the definitive musical text from the New Schubert Edition

- Newly engraved with a spacious appearance and larger format (23 x 30 cm)

- Ideal page turns

- Editorial decisions and conflicting readings from main sources are now identified in this performing edition

- Alternative versions are reproduced in the appendix

Introduction by Walther Dürr focuses on peculiarities in the genesis and performance history of each lied and provides solid information on performance practice

- Adopts straightforward ordering principle from the New Schubert Edition: first by opus number, then in chronological order

- Complete transposition into three vocal registers finally allows every singer to work with the latest findings of Schubert scholarship

The edition is scheduled to include eleven volumes. Each volume will appear in three editions; one for high voice, one for middle voice and one for low voice.

“There are still too few singers who use the scholarly-critical edition of Schubert's lieder with the Urtext from the New Schubert Edition. However, the awareness to work with the musical text and its transmission is growing, even among solo vocalists. The edition has been produced, adhering where possible to the original musical text and without editorial emendations. This enables singers and accompanists to make their own interpretations of the lieder, while keeping as close to Schubert's original intentions as possible. Not only are editorial decisions clearly identified – this is to be expected in the critical editions of today – but Schubert's notational idiosyncrasies are fully retained, e. g the exact placement of dynamic marks and the often vague distinction between crescendo hairpins and accents. The edition gives suggestions for rendering appoggiaturas and grace-notes and includes alternative versions in the appendix. This makes it abundantly clear that introductions and other ornamental embellishments were fully in keeping with the musical practice of Schubert's time. We are delighted to learn that this high-quality edition will now be published.”

( Christoph Prégardien Andreas Staier )

Additional Product Information

Lieder, Vol. 1 (New Edition) ( Op.1-8, 12-14, 19-25) (Urtext).
  • Composer/Author: Schubert, Franz
  • Instrumentation: Low Voice & Piano
  • Contents:

    Schubert, Franz - Erlkönig D 328, op. 1

    Schubert, Franz - Gretchen am Spinnrad D 118, op. 2

    Schubert, Franz - Schäfers Klagelied D 121, op. 3,1

    Schubert, Franz - Meeres Stille D 216, op. 3,2

    Schubert, Franz - Heidenröslein D 257, op. 3,3

    Schubert, Franz - Jägers Abendlied D 368, op. 3,4

    Schubert, Franz - Der Wanderer D 489, op. 4,1

    Schubert, Franz - Morgenlied D 685, op. 4,2

    Schubert, Franz - Wanderers Nachtlied D 224, op. 4,3

    Schubert, Franz - Rastlose Liebe D 138, op. 5,1

    Schubert, Franz - Nähe des Geliebten D 162, op. 5,2

    Schubert, Franz - Der Fischer D 225, op. 5,3

    Schubert, Franz - Erster Verlust D 226, op. 5,4

    Schubert, Franz - Der König in Thule D 367, op. 5,5

    Schubert, Franz - Memnon D 541, op. 6,1

    Schubert, Franz - Antigone und Oedip D 542, op. 6,2

    Schubert, Franz - Am Grabe Anselmos D 504, op. 6,3

    Schubert, Franz - Die abgeblühte Linde D 514, op. 7,1

    Schubert, Franz - Der Flug der Zeit D 515, op. 7,2

    Schubert, Franz - Der Tod und das Mädchen D 531, op. 7,3

    Schubert, Franz - Der Jüngling auf dem Hügel D 702, op. 8,1

    Schubert, Franz - Sehnsucht D 516, op. 8,2

    Schubert, Franz - Erlafsee D 586, op. 8,3

    Schubert, Franz - Am Strome D 539, op. 8,4

    Schubert, Franz - Gesänge des Harfners aus "Wilhelm Meister" D 478, op. 12

    Schubert, Franz - Der Schäfer und der Reiter D 517, op. 13,1

    Schubert, Franz - Lob der Tränen D 711, op. 13,2

    Schubert, Franz - Der Alpenjäger D 524, op. 13,3l

    Schubert, Franz - Suleika I D 720, op. 14,1

    Schubert, Franz - Geheimes D 719, op. 14,2

    Schubert, Franz - An Schwager Kronos D 369, op. 19,1

    Schubert, Franz - An Mignon D 161, op. 19,2

    Schubert, Franz - Ganymed D 544, op. 19,3

    Schubert, Franz - Sei mir gegrüßt D 741, op. 20,1

    Schubert, Franz - Frühlingsglaube D 686, op. 20,2

    Schubert, Franz - Hänflings Liebeswerbung D 552, op. 20,3

    Schubert, Franz - Auf der Donau D 553, op. 21,1

    Schubert, Franz - Der Schiffer D 536, op. 21,2

    Schubert, Franz - Wie Ulfru fischt D 525, op. 21,3

    Schubert, Franz - Der Zwerg D 771, op. 22,1

    Schubert, Franz - Wehmut D 772, op. 22,2

    Schubert, Franz - Die Liebe hat gelogen D 751, op. 23,1

    Schubert, Franz - Selige Welt D 743, op. 23,2

    Schubert, Franz - Schwanengesang D 744, op. 23,3

    Schubert, Franz - Schatzgräbers Begehr D 761, op. 23,4

    Schubert, Franz - Gruppe aus dem Tartarus D 583, op.24,1

    Schubert, Franz - Schlaflied D 527, op. 24,2

    Schubert, Franz - Die schöne Müllerin D 795, op. 25

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
BA9141 BA9141 Academy Chimes 0 in stock BA9141 Barbican Chimes 1 in stock BA9141 Kensington Chimes 0 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Sign up for News & Offers