Follow the links for our current opening hours
Barbican (Tel:0207 588 9242)
Kensington (Tel:0207 589 9054)

Click & Collect orders and Local pick up are available from both stores.

Get ready for Back To School
with new ideas for the new year .

Covid19 Update
Click here for the latest on how COVID19
has affected us, and Royal Mail Deliveries.
The 10% students and teachers
discount is available.

Visit our Digital Download site
to get Choral and Solo
Instrumental music instantly.

Collected Songs - 63 Songs

Boosey & Hawkes, New



In stock. Usually ships in 24hrs.

Click & Collect

Available from Barbican Chimes, Kensington Chimes


ISMN: 979-0-051-93397-6

ISBN: 978-1-4234-2975-3

UPC: 884088135874

This beautiful new edition brings together a selection of Britten's vocal music into one new, clean edition. This volume contains extensive editorial source notes and translations of songs which are not originally in English.

Additional Product Information

Collected Songs - 63 Songs
  • Composer/Author: Britten, Benjamin
  • Arranger: Walters, Richard
  • Instrumentation: High Voice & Piano
  • Format: Sheet Music
  • Pages: 320
  • Contents:

    The Birds (Original Key)

    A Charm of Lullabies op. 41 (in transposition)

    • Cradle Song
    • The Highland Balou
    • Sephestia's Lullaby
    • A Charm
    • The Nurse's Song

    Evening, Morning, Night - Three Songs from 'This Way to the Tomb' (Original Keys)

    • Evening
    • Morning
    • Night

    Fish in the unruffled lakes (original keys)

    • To lie flat on the back
    • Night covers up the rigid land
    • The sun shines down
    • Fish in the unruffled lakes
    • What's in your mind?
    • Underneath the abject willow

    The Holy Sonnets of John Donne, op. 35 (original keys)

    1. IV: "Oh my blacke Soule! now thou art summoned"
    2. XIV: "Batter my heart, three person'd God"
    3. III: "Oh might those sighes and teares return againe"
    4. XIX: "Oh, to vex me, contraryes meet in one"
    5. XIII: "What if this present were the world's last night?"
    6. XVII: "Since she whom I lov'd hath pay'd her last debt"
    7. VII: "At the round earth's imagined corners"
    8. I: "Thou hast made me, and shall thy work decay?"
    9. X: "Death be not proud"

    On This Island, op.11 (original keys)

    • Let the florid music praise
    • Now the leaves are falling fast
    • Seascape
    • Nocturne
    • As it is, plenty

    Sechs Hölderlin-Fragmente, op 61 (original keys)

    • Menschenbeifall
    • Die Heimat
    • Sokrates und Alcibiades
    • Die Jugend
    • Hälfte des Lebens
    • Die Linien des Leben

    Seven Sonnets of Michaelangelo, op. 22 (original keys)

    • XVI: "Si come nella penna e nell'inchiostro" ("Just as in pen and ink")
    • XXXI: "A che più debb'io mai l'intensa voglia" ("To what purpose do I express my intense desire")
    • XXX: "Veggio co' bei vostri occhi un dolce lume" ("I see through your lovely eyes a sweet light")
    • LV: "Tu sa, ch'io so, signor mie, che tu sai" ("You know that I know, my lord, that you know")
    • XXXVIII: "Rendete agli occhi miei, o fonte o fiume" ("Give back to my eyes, o fountains and rivers")
    • XXXII: "S'un casto amor, s'una pietà superna" ("If there is a chaste love, a heavenly pity")
    • XXIV: "Spirto ben nato, in cui si specchia e vede" ("Noble spirit, in whom is reflected")

    Songs from the Chinese, op 58 (transcribed for voice and piano - original keys)

    • The Big Chariot
    • The Old Lute
    • The Autumn Wind
    • The Herd-Boy
    • Depression
    • Dance Song

    Three Songs from 'The Heart of the Matter' (with horn - original keys)

    • Prologue - Where are the seeds of the Universal Fire
    • Song - We are the darkness in the heat of the day
    • Epilogue - So, out of the dark

    Winter Words, op. 52 (original keys)

    • At Day-Close in November
    • Midnight on the Great Western (or, The Journeying Boy)
    • Wagtail and Baby (A Satire)
    • The Little Old Table
    • The Choirmaster's Burial (or, The Tenor Man's Story)
    • Proud Songsters (Thrushes, Finches and Nightingales)
    • At the Railway Station, Upway (or, The Convict and Boy with the Violin)
    • Before Life and After

    plus two additional songs originally cut from Winter Words

    • If it's ever spring again
    • The Children and Sir Nameless

    Two Ballads - vocal duets (original keys)

    • Mother Comfort
    • Underneath the abject willow

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
BHI93397 BHI93397 Academy Chimes 0 in stock BHI93397 Barbican Chimes 1 in stock BHI93397 Kensington Chimes 1 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Sign up for News & Offers