Follow the links for our current opening hours
Barbican (Tel:0207 588 9242)
Kensington (Tel:0207 589 9054)

Click & Collect orders and Local pick up are available from both stores.

Get ready for Back To School
with new ideas for the new year .

Covid19 Update
Click here for the latest on how COVID19
has affected us, and Royal Mail Deliveries.
The 10% students and teachers
discount is available.

Visit our Digital Download site
to get Choral and Solo
Instrumental music instantly.

Three Sonatas Op. 31




In stock. Usually ships in 24hrs.

Click & Collect

Available from Kensington Chimes


With his sonatas op. 31 composed in 1802 Beethoven for the last time grouped together piano sonatas under one opus number. The centrepiece of the collection is undoubtedly the dramatic Sonata in D minor nicknamed »Tempest« which already fascinated his contemporaries. According to Anton Schindler, who asked the composer about the „key“ to this work as well as to the sonata op. 57 (»Appassionata«), Beethoven advised him: “Just read Shakespeare's Tempest".

Jonathan Del Mar, currently one of the most renowned Beethoven scholars, stands for a meticulously edited Urtext edition on the basis of an intensive study of all sources. Performers are presented with a musical text offering new readings and based on the latest research findings. The detailed Critical Commentary accounts for sources, readings and editorial emendations. In this edition great care has been given to a user-friendly layout which on the one hand reflects the flow and tempo of the music and on the other hand facilitates the study of this complex music by means of a transparent and clear appearance on the page as well as good page turns. Particularly enlightening is the chapter on period performance practice which sheds light on certain issues of Beethoven's instruments and their range, the usage of the pedals, tempo, dynamics, articulation and ornaments.

-Scholarly-critical Urtext edition at the cutting edge of scholarship

-New readings

-Based on an evaluation of all available sources

-Reader-friendly layout and practical page turns

-Informative Introduction (Eng/Ger) and detailed Critical Commentary (Eng)

-With valuable information on historical performance practice (Eng/Ger)

Additional Product Information

Three Sonatas Op. 31
  • Composer/Author: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  • Editor: Del Mar, Jonathan
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Language: English - German
  • Pages: 104
  • Contents:

    Performance Practice
    Zur Aufführungspraxis

    Beethoven, Ludwig van - Piano Sonata G major op. 31/1

    Beethoven, Ludwig van - Piano Sonata D minor op. 31/2

    Beethoven, Ludwig van - Piano Sonata E-flat major op. 31/3

    Critical Commentary:
    Signs and conventions

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
BA11805 BA11805 Academy Chimes 0 in stock BA11805 Barbican Chimes 0 in stock BA11805 Kensington Chimes 1 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Sign up for News & Offers