Follow the links for our current opening hours
Barbican (Tel:0207 588 9242)
Kensington (Tel:0207 589 9054)

Click & Collect orders and Local pick up are available from both stores.

Get ready for Back To School
with new ideas for the new year .

Covid19 Update
Click here for the latest on how COVID19
has affected us, and Royal Mail Deliveries.
The 10% students and teachers
discount is available.

Visit our Digital Download site
to get Choral and Solo
Instrumental music instantly.

Complete Piano Sonatas Vol. 4 - Sonatas Hob. XVI:34, XVI:40-42, XVI:47-52.

Wiener Urtext



In stock. Usually ships in 24hrs.

Click & Collect

Available from Barbican Chimes


When Christa Landon presented her printed edition of Joseph Haydn's piano sonatas for the first time, Haydn's sonata works were still overshadowed by the works of Mozart and Beethoven. But Haydn's sonatas left the niche of piano lessons long since and have become established in the concert repertoire; Landon's edition certainly played a major role in that. The Haydn anniversary in 2009 is a welcome occasion to thoroughly revise this 'legendary' edition, because new sources have been discovered and questions concerning authenticity have been clarified over more than forty years; the editorial principles for 18th-century music in particular have markedly changed in the mean time. The new edition comprises all the works from the previous Wiener Urtext edition plus the Sonata Hob. XVI:16 arranged by Landon, as well as a Sonata in F major which was discovered in Bolzano a few years ago and attributed to Joseph Haydn. The new edition, too, is divided into four volumes, the content of which is compatible with that of each of the volumes of the preceding edition. In the notes on interpretation Robert D. Levin explains essential aspects of Haydn's performance practice.

Additional Product Information

Complete Piano Sonatas Vol. 4 - Sonatas Hob. XVI:34, XVI:40-42, XVI:47-52.
  • Composer/Author: Haydn, Franz Joseph
  • Editor: Jonas, Oswald
  • Arranger: Landon, Christa
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Pages: 190
  • Contents:

    ABRSM Piano Grade 8 Syllabus 2019-2020


    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 53 in E minor, Hob.XVI:34
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 54 in G major, Hob.XVI:40
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 55 in B flat major, Hob.XVI:41
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 56 in D major, Hob.XVI:42
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 57 in F major, Hob.XVI:47
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 58 in C major, Hob.XVI:48
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 59 in E flat major, Hob.XVI:49
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 60 in C major, Hob.XVI:50
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 61 in D major, Hob.XVI:51
    • Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 62 in E flat major, Hob.XVI:52

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
UT50259 UT50259 Academy Chimes 0 in stock UT50259 Barbican Chimes 1 in stock UT50259 Kensington Chimes 0 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Sign up for News & Offers