Follow the links for our current opening hours
Barbican (Tel:0207 588 9242)
Kensington (Tel:0207 589 9054)

Click & Collect orders and Local pick up are available from both stores.

Get ready for Back To School
with new ideas for the new year .

Covid19 Update
Click here for the latest on how COVID19
has affected us, and Royal Mail Deliveries.
The 10% students and teachers
discount is available.

Visit our Digital Download site
to get Choral and Solo
Instrumental music instantly.

Piano Sonata in E flat major, Op. 81a "Les Adieux"




In stock. Usually ships in 24hrs.

Click & Collect

Available from Kensington Chimes


Composed in 1809–10, Beethoven's Sonata op. 81a expresses his very personal feelings. He titled its three movements “Das Lebewohl" (The Farewell), “Die Abwesenheit" (The Absence) and “Das Wiedersehn" (The Return) in reference to the hasty departure of his good friend and patron Archduke Rudolph of Austria who fled Vienna with the imperial family on 4 May 1809 to escape Napoleon's approaching troops.

Beethoven referred to op. 81a as a “characteristic sonata", not in the sense that it had an underlying programme, but because it lent musical expression to his feelings. He reacted angrily when his publisher printed French translations of its title and movement headings. This however did not prevent op. 81a from becoming widely known by its French name “Les Adieux".Jonathan Del Mar, worldwide authority for Beethoven's instrumental music, offers a reliable musical text on the basis of the most recent research. The editorial principles are clearly laid out in the Critical Commentary. The elegant engraving meets the performer's needs. Specifically, in the Bärenreiter Urtext edition there is no longer disruptive page turning between the slow second movement and the „attacca subito“ of the following Vivacissimamente. The publication is rounded off by helpful comments on important issues of historical performance practice and by an informative Introduction.

Additional Product Information

Piano Sonata in E flat major, Op. 81a "Les Adieux"
  • Composer/Author: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Contents:

    Beethoven, Ludwig van - Sonata for Pianoforte E-flat major op. 81a - Les Adieux

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
BA11808 BA11808 Academy Chimes 0 in stock BA11808 Barbican Chimes 0 in stock BA11808 Kensington Chimes 1 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Sign up for News & Offers