Follow the links for our current opening hours
Barbican (Tel:0207 588 9242)
Kensington (Tel:0207 589 9054)

Click & Collect orders and Local pick up are available from both stores.

Get ready for Back To School
with new ideas for the new year .

Covid19 Update
Click here for the latest on how COVID19
has affected us, and Royal Mail Deliveries.
The 10% students and teachers
discount is available.

Visit our Digital Download site
to get Choral and Solo
Instrumental music instantly.

Piano Sonata Op. 26 in A-flat Major "Funeral March"




In stock. Usually ships in 24hrs.

Click & Collect

Available from Kensington Chimes


Beethoven's four-movement Sonata in A-flat major op. 26 belongs to his most popular works. It is dedicated to Prince Lichnowsky, one of his most generous patrons and the dedicatee of, for example, the Grande Sonate pathétique op. 13 and Symphony No. 2 op. 35. The work's initial drafts date from 1800–01; it was first published in March 1802.

This demanding sonata is highly varied in its form: it begins with a set of variations and contains the famous Marcia funebre sulla morte d'un Eroe as its third movement, earning it the nickname “Sonata with the Funeral March”. The identity of the title's eroe (hero) remains unknown to the present day. The march was performed at Beethoven's funeral on 29 March 1827 in an arrangement for orchestra.

For this Bärenreiter edition Jonathan Del Mar, possibly as one of the first editors of a modern edition, consulted the composer's autograph in the original. This enabled him to decipher details of Beethoven's handwriting in particular with regard to the exact notation of doubtful slurs. The result is a most reliable and thoroughly-researched musical text. Differing readings and editorial decisions are documented in the Critical Commentary. The edition has been finely engraved and includes practical page turns. Information on central issues of historical performance practice (pedalling, ornaments, tempo, dynamics, articulation) is provided in a detailed chapter.

• Scholarly-critical Urtext edition based on most recent Beethoven research

• Evaluation of Beethoven's autograph in the original

• Elegant engraving with practical page turns

• Informative Introduction (Eng / Ger)

• Discussion of central performance practice issues (Eng / Ger)

• Detailed Critical Commentary (Eng)

Additional Product Information

Piano Sonata Op. 26 in A-flat Major "Funeral March"
  • Composer/Author: Beethoven, Ludwig van
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Contents:

    Performance Practice
    Zur Aufführungspraxis

    Beethoven, Ludwig van - Grande Sonate in A-flat major op. 26 - Grand Sonata - Funeral March

    Critical Commentary:
    Signs and conventions

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
BA11804 BA11804 Academy Chimes 0 in stock BA11804 Barbican Chimes 0 in stock BA11804 Kensington Chimes 1 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Sign up for News & Offers