Follow the links for our current opening hours
Barbican (Tel:0207 588 9242)
Kensington (Tel:0207 589 9054)

Click & Collect orders and Local pick up are available from both stores.

Get ready for Back To School
with new ideas for the new year .

Royal Mail Update
Click here for the latest on how Royal Mail Deliveries are currently being affected.
The 10% students and teachers
discount is available.

Visit our Digital Download site
to get Choral and Solo
Instrumental music instantly.

Symphony No.8 in C (D.944) (Urtext).


This item is currently on order



Currently on order. Usually ships within 3-5 working days.

Click & Collect

Currently on order. Usually available to collect in 3-5 working days.


Schubert wrote the Symphony no. 8 in C major between 1825 and 1828. In order to distinguish this symphony from his symphony no. 6, written between 1817-18, no. 8 was referred to as the “Great Symphony" in C major. After Beethoven's symphonies, this work is recognized as the most important symphony from the first half of the 19th century. It was highly lauded by Schumann and by Mendelssohn, who conducted its first public performance in 1839 in Leipzig .

Schubert himself never actually heard the symphony performed and it was long considered unperformable .

This new edition, a pre-print of the New Schubert Edition volume V/4, is based on the only primary source; Schubert's autograph. Although the source situation is comparatively clear, the editor was faced with many difficult problems. Schubert's autograph was written down in several different creative compositional stages, which he reworked over a considerable period of time. These various stages of writing, editing and correcting had to be identified and many of the numerous emendations needed to be interpreted. The results of this editorial process will surely play a relevant role in the performance of this important work. The earlier numbering of this symphony as no. 7 was based on the first Complete Edition of Schubert's works.

It listed the seven finished symphonies and then the famous “Unfinished Symphony" in B minor as no. 8. At a later date, in order to be chronologically correct, was listed before the “Great Symphony" in C major was assigned the no. 9 following the “Unfinished".

Edited by Werner Aderhold

282 pages, 31.0 x 24.3cm

Additional Product Information

Symphony No.8 in C (D.944) (Urtext).
  • Composer/Author: Schubert, Franz
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Format: Full Score - Paperback
  • Contents:

    Schubert, Franz - Symphony no. 8 C major D 944 "The Great"

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
BA5648 BA5648 Academy Chimes 0 in stock BA5648 Barbican Chimes 0 in stock BA5648 Kensington Chimes 0 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Sign up for News & Offers