Follow the links for our current opening hours
Barbican (Tel:0207 588 9242)
Kensington (Tel:0207 589 9054)

Click & Collect orders and Local pick up are available from both stores.

Get ready for Back To School
with new ideas for the new year .

Covid19 Update
Click here for the latest on how COVID19
has affected us, and Royal Mail Deliveries.
The 10% students and teachers
discount is available.

Visit our Digital Download site
to get Choral and Solo
Instrumental music instantly.

Sarka - Symphonic Poem




In stock. Usually ships in 24hrs.

Click & Collect

Available from Kensington Chimes


Composed in January–February 1875, Šárka is the third symphonic poem in Smetana's six-part cycle Má vlast (My Fatherland). He first published it in a version for piano-duet issued by publisher Urbánek in 1880. The score of the first edition did not appear in print until 1888, four years after Smetana's death.

Owing to the many errors in the first edition, Hugh Macdonald has based this new edition on the autograph score with annotations by Adolf Cech, who conducted the premiere on 17 March 1877. The autograph and print of the piano-duet version served as additional sources.

• Classical masterpiece of Czech music in a new scholarly-critical edition
• Follows on from Hugh Macdonald's Urtext edition of Vltava (The Moldau)
• Detailed Foreword by Smetana expert Olga Mojžíšová (Eng/Cz/Ger) and Critical Commentary by the editor (Eng)

63 Pages, 31.0 x 24.4cm

Additional Product Information

Sarka - Symphonic Poem
  • Composer/Author: Smetana, Bedrich
  • Editor: Macdonald, Hugh
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Format: Full Score
  • Contents:


    Smetana, Bedrich - Šárka from: Má vlast (My Country)

    Critical Commentary

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
BA11532 BA11532 Academy Chimes 0 in stock BA11532 Barbican Chimes 0 in stock BA11532 Kensington Chimes 2 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Sign up for News & Offers