Piano Quintet in f minor

Henle Verlag



In stock. Usually ships in 24hrs.

Click & Collect

Available from Academy Chimes, Barbican Chimes, Kensington Chimes


This work, composed in 1878/79, substitutes between chamber music intimacy and orchestral affluence, and symbolises the start of a series of significant late works by César Franck. Its composition was partly driven by the successful performance of Franck's youthful piano trios at the “Société nationale de musique" (founded in 1871), and probably also by a composition competition for works using this instrumental combination whose deadline Franck then went on to miss. The Quintet was received coolly at its first performance in January 1880, and it was performed just a few more times during the composer's lifetime. It has only been in the 20th century that audiences and critics came to recognise this work as a major milestone in the history of French chamber music, and it now enhances the Henle catalogue in a new Urtext edition.

Additional Product Information

Piano Quintet in f minor
  • Composer/Author: Franck, Cesar
  • Editor: Heinemann, Ernst-Guenter
  • Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello, piano
  • Format: Score & parts

Stock Availability

Academy Chimes Barbican Chimes Kensington Chimes
HN1142 HN1142 Academy Chimes 1 in stock HN1142 Barbican Chimes 1 in stock HN1142 Kensington Chimes 2 in stock


Please login to review this product

This item currently has no reviews.

Delivery options

Sign up for News & Offers